Home ›   |   Jane Austen ›   |   Jane Austen's Works
JA Works banner

Jane Austen's Works

Jane Austen wrote six novels that continue to captivate readers almost 200 years after her death:

  • Sense and Sensibility
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Mansfield Park
  • Emma
  • Northanger Abbey
  • Persuasion

These novels, as well as her juvenilia and unfinished works, are available in numerous modern print and ebook editions. Her collected letters, which are also a source of entertainment and biographical information, are available in print in Jane Austen's Letters, edited by Deirdre Le Faye (Oxford University Press, 2011).

Austen's works can also be found online:

Chronology of Austen’s Works

The following is a chronology of Austen’s writing and the publication of her novels through 1817, the year she died. 

c. 1787-1793

Short works, collectively called the Juvenilia, written.

c. 1794

Lady Susan
written, but without a conclusion.

c. 1795

“Elinor and Marianne” written (later revised as Sense and Sensibility).


“First Impressions” begun (later revised as Pride and Prejudice).


“First Impressions” completed and offered by Austen’s father to a publisher, but rejected sight unseen.

c. 1798